您在這裡

Head’s up — MassLegalHelp is getting a new look!

At the beginning of March, we will be relaunching this website with a brand-new look. You may notice some things moved around, but our main content will stay the same. We hope the improved design will make it easier to find what you are looking for.

 

Your Right to an Interpreter

創建者 Massachusetts Law Reform Institute
审查日期 January 2008

1-我去過渡援助部門(DTA)時,有權要求翻譯者嗎?

是的。如果您的英語並不十分流利,每次去過渡援助部門,您都有權要求翻譯者。無論您的母語是什麽,福利辦公室都應該給您一位翻譯員。如果您需要美國手語翻譯員,福利部門也應該給您一位。

2-如果我可以說一些英語?

您仍然有權利要求一位翻譯員。如果您更習慣用自己的母語而不是英語,您有權要求一位翻譯員。您需要理解您的DTA職員說的所有內容,而您的DTA職員也需要理解您所說的所有內容。否則,您的案子可能會有問題。

3-我應該怎樣要求翻譯者?

告訴接待員或您的DTA職員,您需要一位翻譯員。
如果他們不能理解您的意思,他們應該給您看一張“我說”(I SPEAK)卡。這是一張列出很多語言的卡。如果能看見了自己的語言,您可以指向它,這樣,接待員或DTA職員就會瞭解您需要的是哪種語言的翻譯者。如果他們還是不能理解您的意思,他們需要用:”語言線“(Language Line)來通過電話幫助他們瞭解您需要的語言。

4-我需要為翻譯員付費嗎?

不。福利部門必須為翻譯員付費。

5-如果因為需要翻譯員,福利部門讓我等待怎麼辦?

福利部門不應該因為翻譯員,讓您等待太長時間。
如果您是去福利部門申請福利,他們應該在您去的同一天內申請,即使您需要翻譯員。
如果您只是需要和您的工作人員談話,您的工作人員需要找到一個翻譯員。如果您的DTA職員無法找到,他或她應該打電話給”語言線“(language Line) ,尋找一位翻譯員和您通過電話交流。

6-如果我通過電話和我的工作人員交談怎麼辦?

您的DTA職員應該做以下三件事中的一件:在她的辦公室尋找一位翻譯員,運用語言線找到翻譯員,并和您進行三路電話,或者和您約定一個時間,和一位翻譯員一起打電話給 您。如果您同意這不是緊急事件,您的工作人通常會在一天或兩天之內聯繫您。如果這是緊急事件,工作人員會設法在當天找到翻譯者並與您交談。

7-我是否可以得到以我的母語書寫的書面文件,例如申請表或通知?

如果您說西班牙語,過渡援助部門有用您的母語書寫的表格和通知。讓您的福利工作人員知道您想要西班牙語的表格和通知。
如果您的語言是另一種不同語言,而您所在地區有很多人說這門語言,福利部門應該將表格和通知翻譯成這種語言,但也許他們還沒有這麼做。如果這樣,您可以聯繫當地法律服務辦公室,讓他們幫助您要求福利部門翻譯這些表格。
如果您的語言並不是您所在地區大多數人運用的語言,福利部門不需要給您以您的母語所寫的表格和通知。但福利部門應該告訴您這些通知和表格的意思。

8-在職業中心我是否有權要求一位翻譯員?

是的。如果您不能理解職業中心或訓練課上DTA職員所說的所有內容,您可以要求一位翻譯員。如果職業中心沒有給您一位翻譯員,告訴您的DTA職員,并致電法律援助辦公室尋求協助。

9-如果我在庇護所,我有權利要求翻譯員嗎?

是的。任何時候,只要您需要和庇護所的工作人員交流,您都可以要求一位翻譯員。

10-如果我接到拒絕,減少,或停止我的福利的通知,我可以得到幫助填寫上訴的幫助嗎?我可以在聽證會上要求一位翻譯員嗎?

如果您從福利部門接到您的福利將會被減少或停止的通知,您可以填寫通知背面的表格提出上訴。
如果您要幫助來理解該表格,請致電您的DTA職員,要求以為翻譯員為您翻譯此表格。您可以用自己的母語填寫表格,或者讓翻譯員幫助您翻譯答案。
您也有權在聽證會上要求一位翻譯員,這樣您就可以解釋爲什麽您的福利不應該被拒絕, 減少或停止。致電聽證會部門讓他們知道您需要翻譯員。電話是:1-800-882-2017, TTY:1-800-532-6238 或 617-348-5337

11-如果福利部門沒有給您翻譯員?

要求福利工作人員或其上司查看”Field Operations Memo 2005-34”, 這項文件由福利部門官員創作。此備忘錄解釋了當人們需要的時候,福利部門必須提供翻譯者。
如果福利辦公室,工作中心,或庇護所仍然不給您翻譯員,請致電當地的法律援助辦公室尋求幫助。

尋求援助

你可能有資格獲得當地法律援助項目的援助。

如果你想尋求免費律師服務,尋求援助。(請點擊這裡 -
Find Legal Aid)

You are here

Your Right to an Interpreter

Do I have the right to an interpreter when I go to DTA (the welfare office)?

Yes. If you are not completely fluent in English, you have the right to an interpreter every time that you go to the welfare office. It does not matter what your native language is. The welfare office is supposed to give you an interpreter.

If you need an American Sign Language interpreter, the welfare office should give you one.  

What if I can speak a little bit of English?

You still have the right to an interpreter. If you are more comfortable in your native language than in English, you have the right to an interpreter. You need to understand everything your worker says, and your worker needs to understand everything that you say. Otherwise, there might be problems with your case.

How do I ask for an interpreter?

Tell the receptionist or your worker that you need an interpreter.

If they can not understand you, they should show you an "I Speak" card. This is a card that has many languages listed on it. If you see your language, point to it so the receptionist or worker will know which language you need an interpreter to speak. If they still can not understand you, they should use the "Language Line" to get help over the phone figuring out which language you need.

Do I have to pay anything for the interpreter?

No. The welfare office must pay for the interpreter.

What if the welfare office makes me wait because I need an interpreter?

The welfare office should not make you wait a long time for an interpreter.

If you are there to apply for benefits, they are supposed to let you apply the same day that you walk in, even if you need an interpreter.

If you just need to speak to your worker, your worker should find an interpreter. If your worker can not find an interpreter, he or she should call the "Language Line" for an interpreter to talk to you over the phone.

What about when I call my worker on the phone?

Your worker should do one of three things: find an interpreter in her office, use the Language Line to get an interpreter on a three way phone call with you, or schedule a time to call you back with an interpreter. If you agree that it is not an emergency, the worker should call you back within a day or two. If it is an emergency, the worker should find a way for an interpreter to speak to you the same day.

Can I get written documents, like applications and notices, in my language?

If you speak Spanish, the welfare office has forms and notices that are written in your language. Let your worker know that you want forms and notices in Spanish.

If you speak a different language that is spoken by many people in the area you live, the welfare office is supposed to translate forms and notices into your language but may not have done it yet. If this is the case, you may want to call your local Legal Services office and ask for help getting your local welfare office to translate these forms for you.

If you speak a language that is not spoken by many people in your area, the welfare office does not have to give you forms and notice in your language. But the welfare office is supposed to tell you what the forms and notices say.

Do I have the right to an interpreter at the Career Center?

Yes. Ask for an interpreter if you can not understand all of what is being said by a worker at the Career Center or in a training class. If the Career Center does not give you an interpreter, tell your welfare worker and call a Legal Aid office for assistance.

If I am in a shelter, do I have the right to an interpreter at the shelter?

Yes. You have the right to an interpreter at the shelter whenever you need to speak to shelter staff.

I got a notice denying, cutting, or stopping my benefits. Can I get help filing an appeal, and will I get an interpreter at the hearing?

If you get a notice from the welfare office saying that your benefits will be cut or stopped, you can file an appeal by filling out a form on the other side of the notice.

If you need help understanding the form, call your worker to ask for an interpreter to translate it for you. You can fill out the appeal form in your own language, or ask the interpreter to translate your answers.

You also have the right to an interpreter at the appeal hearing, so that you can explain why your benefits should not be denied, cut, or stopped. Call the Division of Hearings to let them know you need an interpreter.  The phone number for the Division of Hearings is 1-800-882-2017, and the TTY is1-800-532-6238 or 617-348-5337.

What if the welfare office does not give me an interpreter?

Ask the worker or the worker's supervisor to look at "Field Operations Memo 2005-34," which was written by welfare office officials. This memo explains that welfare offices have to give people interpreters when people need them.

If the welfare office, career center, or shelter still will not get you an interpreter,

Report it to the Massachusetts Language Access Coalition

call your local Legal Aid office for help.

Produced by Massachusetts Law Reform Institute
Last Updated January, 2008

Find Legal Aid

You may be able to get free legal help from your local legal aid program. Or email a question about your own legal problem to a lawyer.

Ask a Law Librarian

If it's
Monday-Friday
between
9am and 4pm