You are here

What is the difference between anger management and certified Intimate Partner Abuse Education Programs (IPAEP)?

Produced by the Batterer Intervention Working Group of the Governor’s Commission on Domestic Violence and the Massachusetts Department of Public Health
Created June 2012 to be adapted
 

Anger Management

Certified Intimate Partner Abuse Education

Are programs state-certified? No Yes.  Certification is administered by the Massachusetts Department of Public Health through statutorily driven standards and guidelines
Who is served by the programs? Perpetrators of stranger or non-intimate violence. Domestic violence offenders.
How long are programs? Usually 8-20 sessions, with an average program lasting 10 sessions. At least 80 hours.  Usually 40, 2-hour sessions.
Do programs contact victims/survivors? No Yes.  If the victim/survivor chooses, the program will remain in regular contact with that individual and provide referrals, safety planning, and information to help protect children.
Are programs monitored by a state agency? No Yes.  By the Massachusetts Department of Public Health.
Are programs linked with a domestic violence survivor services program? No Yes.  Each program must have a letter of agreement and formal linkage with a domestic violence survivor services program.
Do programs assess individuals who abuse for lethality? No Yes.  While not a perfect prediction model, certified intimate partner abuse education programs minimally ask questions which reveal how potentially lethal a person who abuses can be – such as if a gun at home is kept in the home or if there have ever been any convictions of other violent offenses.
What is the emphasis of the intervention? Violence is seen as a momentary outburst of anger.  So perpetrators are taught to use techniques like “time outs.” Physical, sexual, verbal, emotional and economic abuse and violence are behaviors chosen by batterers to control their intimate partners.  IPAEP hold abusers accountable for their violent and abusive choices and teach them to recognize how their abuse affects their partners and children and to practice alternatives to abusive behaviors.
Are group facilitators trained about domestic violence? Subject to agency discretion. State standards specify 24 hours of Massachusetts Department of Public Health approved specialized training at a certified site and at least 12 hours of group observation.
How would I address grievances with this type of program? Talk to the director of the program. 1) Talk to the director of the program.2) Call the Massachusetts Department of Public Health at 617-624-5497.
What type of data collection occurs? No statewide system. The Massachusetts Department of Public Health collects statewide data.

 

Certified Intimate Partner Abuse Education Programs tailor their services to meet the needs of linguistic and cultural minorities (with groups in Spanish, Portuguese, Vietnamese, Khmer, Haitian Creole), perpetrators with disabilities, lesbians and gay men who batter, and DCF-referred fathers who batter.

 

Who to call for help

Ask a Law Librarian

If it's
Monday-Friday
between
9am and 4pm