You are here

When will you get a decision and what should you do if you lose?

Alert

DTA made a number of changes and suspended a number of rules during the COVID-19 pandemic. The Guide notes in red when a rule was suspended during the pandemic.

Produced by Deborah Harris, Massachusetts Law Reform Institute
Reviewed March 9 2022

If you asked for a hearing because your application was denied, the hearing officer must decide your case within 45 days after you appeal.
In all other cases, the hearing officer must decide within 90 days of your appeal. 106 C.M.R. § 343.140. If you win, you should get any benefits DTA owes you within 30 days of the decision.

If you lose your fair hearing, don’t give up! Reapply for benefits. Also get in touch with your local legal services office right away. See Appendix D: Massachusetts Legal Services Offices. You have 14 days from the date of the decision to ask for a remand and 30 days after receipt of the decision to file in court to challenge the hearing officer’s decision. 106 C.M.R. §§ 343.710, 343.720. Be sure to allow time to get the remand or court papers ready.

Advocacy Reminder:

  • You can fax your remand request to the Commissioner, fax 617-348-8575.

Find Legal Aid

You may be able to get free legal help from your local legal aid program. Or email a question about your own legal problem to a lawyer.

Help us improve MassLegalHelp!

Take a short survey to tell us what works and what is missing.

Your Local DTA Office

Ask a Law Librarian

If it's
Monday-Friday
between
9am and 4pm