The Massachusetts TAFDC Program

Also in
Show Endnotes
Massachusetts Law Reform Institute

In Massachusetts, the agency that runs the family cash assistance program is called the Department of Transitional Assistance (DTA). Massachusetts funds cash assistance primarily with state funds; most of the block grant pays for programs and services other than cash assistance.

In February 1995 the Massachusetts legislature enacted a “welfare reform” plan called Chapter 5. Chapter 5 renamed the state’s welfare program Transitional Aid to Families with Dependent Children (TAFDC). Chapter 5 also made sweeping changes to the program, imposing a two-year time limit on benefits and a work requirement for many recipients, a family cap, sanctions for not documenting immunization and for children not attending school, living arrangement requirements for teen parents, and other new restrictions. Massachusetts has also kept a number of rules and benefit restrictions that are no longer required by federal law, including assistance unit rules and rigid child support cooperation requirements.

Thousands of families have lost benefits because of the time limit and sanctions. Before welfare reform, about 95,000 families with children received welfare benefits. Now only about 40,000 families receive benefits.


Was this page helpful?