95. What changes do I need to report to DTA?

Also in
Show Endnotes
Massachusetts Law Reform Institute

When you are approved for SNAP, you are “certified” for a set amount of time. This is called your certification period. During your certification period you may have to do paperwork to keep SNAP. You may also have to tell DTA about certain changes. At the end of your certification period, you must do a Recertification so DTA can determine if you are still eligible for SNAP.

After your SNAP is approved, DTA will send you a notice telling you what your reporting rules are, how long your SNAP certification period is, and what kind of certification type you have.

There are 5 different SNAP certification types with different reporting requirements. See the chart below.

SNAP certification types

Certification TypeWhich households?What do I have to report and when?


36 Month Certification Period

See Question 98

Households where all adults are either age 60+ or disabled and have no earned income (can include children under 18)

Recertification at 36 months. No Interim Reports.

Otherwise, only required to report if:

  • someone joins or leaves the households or
  • anyone in the household starts a job (has earnings)

Simplified Reporting:

12 Month Certification Period

See Question 96

Most SNAP households, including families with children, working adults, SNAP households where some but not all members get TAFDC, unemployed adults, students, households formerly on EDSAP, etc.

Some households have an Interim Report at 6 months. Most households have a Recertification at 12 months.

Otherwise, only required to report if:

  • Gross income exceeds 200% FPL for the household size, unless household includes person 60+ or disabled (no reporting requirements for households with person 60+ or disabled).
  • If an ABAWD, must also report if meeting the rules through work and work hours drop below 20 per week.

Note: The ABAWD rules are currently suspended.

Change Reporting:

12 Month Certification Period

See Question 99

“Public Assistance” cases – all members receive TAFDC (or some get TAFDC and some get SSI) or EAEDC cash benefits.

Recertification at 12 months.

Also required to report a number of changes to household circumstances.

Transitional Benefits Alternative (TBA):

5 Month Certification Period

See Question 102

Certain cases terminated from TAFDC due to income.

Recertification at 5 months.

No reporting requirements.

Bay State Cap:

36 Month Certification Period

See Question 4

Certain individuals receiving SSI.

Recertification at 36 months.

No reporting requirements.


Was this page helpful?